Baguio 2014

Since 2010, it has been a family tradition to travel every Chinese New Year as that’s the only time my father’s home from working in China. Although he’s been staying here in the country (permanently) for a year now, we decided to continue the tradition. From Quezon to Batangas to Laguna to Bohol, now we’re up to the awesome BAGUIO!

DAY 1 (January 31, 2014)

We boarded the 6:30 AM trip of Victory Liner Pasay and arrived at Baguio around 2:00PM. The trip’s supposed to be for 6 hours only but we’re delayed because of some road constructions up North. We were picked up by Tito Darwin, uncle of my friend Darika, with whom I’ve arranged our lodging and tour since they have a house for rent in the area.

For the first day, we stopped by Oh My Gulay! Restaurant (Checklist #1!) to get a quick-fix of our hunger. The place was pretty amazing and yes, I posted it on another blog (Baguio Eats [Part 1]). This restaurant’s one of my Baguio Checklist which I drafted before going to Baguio. It was my 3rd time to visit the city so I made sure I’ll do/ try something different from the usual itinerary. Among the others are as follows:

  1. Eat at Oh My Gulay! Restaurant
  2. Eat at Happy Tummy/ The Ketchup Community
  3. Eat at Cafe by the Ruins
  4. Drink Traditional Blend / Baguio Blend at Choco-late de Batirol
  5. Eat Strawberry Taho
  6. Buy at Street Ukay – Ukay at Burnham Park
  7. Pick strawberries at Strawberry Farm
  8. Photo with the St. Bernard’s at Mines View Park
  9. Visit Mt. Cloud Bookshop
  10. Appreciate Art at BenCab Museum

After eating, we stopped by Mt. Cloud Bookshop (Checklist #9!). The place is really cozy. Books up for sale are more into Filipino culture and arts. If you’re expecting Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, this might not be the place for you.

We went to Burnham Park after to wait for the Street Ukay-Ukay (Checklist #6!) at 9PM. The cold air is just perfect for a solemn night with family.

After an hour and a half spent haggling at the ukay-ukay, we decided to go home to recharge for next day’s trip.

DAY 2 (February 1, 2014)

On our way to the Strawberry Farm, we decided to stop by Tam-awan Village. Entrance is Php 50/ adult and Php 30/ students.

Afterwards, we headed straight to the Stawberry Farm where we picked our own strawberries (Checklist #7) to take home to Manila.  Strawberry picking is Php 350/ kilo of strawberries. Not bad to think that it is guaranteed that your strawberries are fresh!

We then do the usual itinerary when you go to Baguio which consists of Botanical Garden, Wright Park, The Mansion, Mines View Park and the Good Shepherd. We had our lunch at The Ketchup Community, specifically The Happy Tummy (Checklist #2!) which I will post on another blog post (Baguio Eats [Part 2]).  Also, I finally had my photo taken with the St. Bernards (Checklist #8). They are really very friendly and huggable, you can literally scream “They’re so fluffy, I’m gonna die!!!!” but you might scare them away. :P

We went to Camp John Hay afterwards and check on the outlet stores. We had our dinner in Choco-late de Batirol (Checklist #4) but as just like the other two, I’ll mention it on my other blog post (Baguio Eats [Part 2]). We went home very satisfied with our day being so productive and fun.

Day 3 (February 02, 2014)

We woke up early to attend the 7AM mass at Pink Sister’s Church. We used to attend once or twice a year the one in Tagaytay when I’m still young. The place is a lot smaller than the other, making it more intimate. One cough, it will surely echo all over the place. After the mass, my sister and I tried the steamy hot Strawberry Taho (Checklist #5!). Perfect for the cold morning breeze!

We were supposed to have breakfast at Cafe by the Ruins (Checklist #3) but got lost in directions. So we went to PMA first, then headed to the restaurant for lunch (Baguio Eats [Part 3]).

After our lunch, we headed straight to BenCab Museum (Checklist #10!) at Asin Road. Most people don’t know that I like and appreciate Art. If not for my business course, I would have taken Fine Arts instead. It was a dream before to have my own work in a gallery. Mind you, I’m not good. I don’t draw nor paint. I just like the fact how Art can take my mind off somewhere else and make me happy.

The museum consists of 8 galleries (Bencab gallery, Cordillera Gallery, Print Gallery, Indigo Gallery, Erotica Gallery, Philippine Contemporary Art, Maestro Gallery), a cafe (Cafe Sabel), a viewing terrace, a function room, and farm/ garden outside. Entrance fee is only Php 100/ person. The museum was our last stop. We then left Baguio at 6:30 PM.

Indeed, it was a very relaxing, slow-paced weekend, perfect to start yet another year with the family. Wonder where we are going to next, hmm. :D

That’s it for now.

<3 always, Irene

5 responses to “Baguio 2014

  1. Pingback: Pinto Art Museum 2014 | Chasing Happiness·

  2. Pingback: Baguio Eats [Part 1] | Chasing Happiness·

What do you think?

