Birthdays and Memories

Today, I compiled all my 2013 Facebook birthday greetings to my closest friends. This is my way of saying “thank you” for everything – when things are good, we celebrate; when things are tough, we’re there for each other.   I pray that no matter how busy life can get, how different the paths we take, we’ll always keep the friendship intact. :)

February

Nikki Santiago – The Girly Best Friend | February 21.

Happy birthday, Beshie!

Happy birthday, Beshie!

From the stranger who used to sit beside me during Kinder 1’s class pictorial to this lady who’s been my best friend for 8 years now (yes since 2nd year HS). I remember how we used to spend our boring days in High School dressing up and doing pictorials. How we (somehow) grew apart in College because of the busy schedule and distance. How we (now that we’re working) spend almost all our Sundays together – going to far away places and trying out new things. Cheers for 50 or more years of friendship! Make sure, you’ll last that long! HAHA! Happy birthday, Beshie Nikki! Love you to bits!

March

Rowcee Pamittan – The Love and Life Mentor | March 3.

Happy Birthday, Ate Rowcee!

Happy Birthday, Ate Rowcee!

To this woman who used to be just an acquaintance and a schoolmate, but later on became my roommate, my
mentor and one of my most trusted friends. Happy birthday, Ate Rowcee! Sorry if I posted this late, and I’m not sure if you got my text yesterday. I hope you’re having a blast on your adventure. Let’s see each other soon, I know I’ve been missing a lot lately.

Angel Endaya – The Pseudo – Twin | March 8.

Happy Birthday, Angel!

Happy Birthday, Angel!

To my “pseudo” twin born seven years later than me, happy birthday Angel! I admit that you are the sweeter, cuter and thinner (yes I am fat!) version of me, but l still love you nonetheless.  No matter how annoying, moody and noisy you can be, I am still thankful to have a baby sister to take care of and be crazy with. I’m happy that even though we often fight, we still have each other’s back when times get rough. Hope everything went well on your birthday and though this greeting may be late, I hope it put a smile on your face. Love you!

April

Anna Rafanan – The Birthday Twin | April 6.

Happy Birthday, Anna!

Happy Birthday, Anna!

To this girl who was born the same day as I am 22 years ago, happy, happy birthday, Annavee! It’s really funny how we have lot of things in common, from our birthdays to love of arts, Up Dharma Down and cats to even the “situation” we’re going through right now! I am glad that we managed to keep in touch amidst the distance. Please, please go to Manila this summer! Let’s hang out real soon!We can finally this song! HAHA ♪♫♪ “…Tonight’s the night when we forget about the heartbreaks, it’s time uh uh… I don’t know about you but im feeling 22. Everything will be alright if you keep me next to you, you don’t know about me but I bet you want to. Everything will be alright if we just keep dancing like we’re 22, 22” ♪♫♪

Olive Bag -ao – The Long Distance Best Friend | April 13.

Happy Birthday, Difs!

Happy Birthday, Difs!

For this girl who’s always MIA in celebrations and random trips but will always be there when you need a friend. The one who I can laugh with like there’s no tomorrow and cry til I can’t breathe anymore. The one who can catch up even if we haven’t seen/ talked with each other for more than 6 months or so. The one who’s residing far south of the country to support her sister and extend help in every way she can. Happy birthday Difs Lebbi! I miss you! Can’t wait to see you again! 

June

Kisha Dorado – The Best Friend Since The Time of Pig Tails | June 27.

Happy Birthday, Bhe!

Happy Birthday, Bhe!

Our friendship is not the type where we need to talk everyday or see each other even once a week. Ours is more of seeing each other once or twice a year, and every time we do so, it always feels like we never parted. Ours is something already tested by distance and time. For this girl who’s been my best friend for (whooping!!!) 15 years now, happy, happy birthday, Kisha!  Let’s do something hilariously crazy on our silver anniversary! ;)

PS. I would have scanned and posted our Grade 1 photos if I only have the printed copies with me. HAHA

July

Claire Insigne – The Drama Queen | July 31.

Happy Birthday, Beh!

Happy Birthday, Beh!

To this girl who had dozens or so different hairstyles since I knew her… Who had been in a relationship for so many times but still acts like its her first time now (HAHA peace!)…. Who always makes sure she has “pasalubong” to her little brother (though he’s not so little anymore)… Who never fails to ask how am I every so often (which I truly appreciate!).. Happy, happy birthday, Claire! Don’t tell me I’m late because we are 1 hour behind, so technically it’s still your birthday here! HAHA. Hope you had a blast on your day! IMY! Stay inlove! <3

August

Darika Roquero – The All-Around Buddy | August 26.

Happy Birthday, Mother Daxie!

Happy Birthday, Mother Daxie!

From that awkward 1st day of seating next to her in Mona Lisa– to the endless talking a week after that. From LDFriendship when she went to TL — to my loud squeak when she returned home. For being the youngest “adopted” daughter of the Roquero Family (ehem!). For the cooking lessons (and food art c/o of Tita) that I need to learn. For being her twisting arm friend (with Cece!). For the era of UDD concerts and Armi-ing. For being my Civil Service Exam buddy and our habit of studying while drinking . For celebrating my 22nd birthday with me (and got drunk in the process). For being my coffee buddy, toothbrush buddy, hayahay buddy, vertical marathon buddy, drinking-to-death buddy, and lets-be-fat-together-buddy. For the lets-go-do-something-different moments and having random checklists of things we want to achieve.

For being one of the few people I’m comfortable with to tell anything and be as wasted as I can be. To this woman who finally reached her quarter life (sorry if I have to say that!HAHA), happy birthday Mo–th-ehhheerr! I know you’ve been waiting for this post. HAHA. I will see you soon (as in like 5 days!)!-  <3 your Berks Daughter.

November

Anna Lam – The Beauty Guru | November 21.

Happy Birthday, Cece!

Happy Birthday, Cece!

My long overdue post (2 weeks to be exact): Happy birthday to my Chinese pseudo-sister who’s been my partner-in-crime for more than 2 years now (thanks to the MT program haha)! I never thought we’ll be as close as what we are today. For reminding me always how beautiful life is and will be, thank you! Friendship more than cat yearrrsss, okay? Meow! :D

December

Mak Garcia – The Guy Best Friend | December 14.

Happy Birthday, Dodong!

Happy Birthday, Dodong!

He’s the only guy I’m comfortable with any state I’m in. I can be the girly girl or the girl dude and he won’t seem to care. He do care, however, on how short my skirt is and would always give me his jacket to cover it up when I sit. He’ll notice how unruly my hair is or how my pimples are breaking out when I don’t have proper sleep (well, thanks to him!), and tell me to give myself time that it deserves. He’ll always notice every small detail, good or bad the change is and will always be frank about it  – tell me if it’s pretty, tease me if it’s not. I used to brush him off whenever he do his maniac moves (HAHA!) but then get used to it overtime. We always eat and we love it – A LOT, and I guess this is how we got closer – from random dinners/ lunchouts to (almost) everyday merienda, we make sure we’ll always catch up.

Abroad or not, he’s the person who I usually talk (or most appropriately, report) my day to – rant when I need to or simply talk about how the day have been. He may be six years older than me, but I  feel that I am with someone of my same age, who I can fool around, do stupid things, and yet, when things need to get serious, we know we can (I think!). People always thought what we have is more than friendship yet we know better than they do – we’ve “friend-zoned” each other a long time ago, before we even became as close as what we are today HAHA! Happy birthday, Dodong! I know things may change over time, but I do hope and pray I’ll always have you there- good or bad. :)

Jen Viduya – The Big Sister Roomie | December 22.

Happy Birthday, Ate Jen!

Happy Birthday, Ate Jen!

To this woman who always put others first than herself, who always acts as my big sister day-in day-out in college or even after that. For being the one who accepts me and continually gives me advise no matter how stupid my actions were (or still are). For being the one who can brighten up one’s day by her saying “kamusta ka naman, teh?” with that wide innocent smile. Happy birthday, Ate Jen! We may see each other once or twice a year only, but I know you’ll always be there when I need you. Stay happy and inlove! <3

PS. The last two posts are not posted on Facebook. I have to admit, I didn’t have the time to edit the photos and finish the notes on time that posting it now will be too late.  I just hope the thought still counts. ;)

To new memories. To another year of friendship. Cheers, 2014! That’s it for now.

<3 always, Irene

What do you think?

