The Versatile Blogger Award – Thank You!

Click on the image to know more about the award.

I didn’t know that awards like this exist but I am ecstatic and very flattered to receive The Versatile Blogger Award from these two lovely Canadian couples, Carol and Al, from their blog http://travellingmudskippers.wordpress.com! Thank you guys! Hope you do check out their blog and follow their journey of finally living on a backpack life. Pretty bold and brave, indeed!

Okay, since this was the first time I heard of this award, it is necessary to do a bit of research, and based on several links in the internet, I’ve found out that the Versatile Blogger Award works like a “chain-letter” promoting (or nominating) fellow bloggers to encourage and help expand each other’s followers.  The said rules are as follows:

1. Thank the person who gave you this award and include a link to their blog.
I just did this in my introduction above, but again, thank you to Carol and Al of http://travellingmudskippers.wordpress.com :) It’s really nice to know people do appreciate what I’m posting, no matter how random it may be.

2. Select 15 blogs that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.  Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.

Hmm, let me see if I can complete the list here. These are mostly inspirational (do what you love!) and travel -related (food and place) blogs as that’s where my interests are now:

http://www.lifewithoutpants.com/

http://thoughtfulpaper.wordpress.com/

http://ricafacundo.com/

http://wheresmybackpack.com/

http://ajpoliquit.wordpress.com/

http://maxim061156.wordpress.com/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/

http://pinoyontheroad.com/

http://justlats.com/

http://juliansherman.net/

http://sickandsickofit.wordpress.com/

http://lostgenygirl.com/

http://layasna.wordpress.com/

http://thewanderingnurse.wordpress.com/

http://nyampenh.com/

Ta-daaah, I did it! YAY!

3. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Wow, introducing oneself is one of the most difficult things to do. But to abide with the rules, here it goes:

  • I am a Filipino currently living in Phnom Penh for a temporary 3-month assignment at work. This is the first and longest time that I’ve been out of my comfort zone and away from my family and friends.
View from my bedroom window. This was my first weekend alone in Phnom Penh.

View from my bedroom window. This was my first weekend alone in Phnom Penh.

  • I love travelling and getting the taste of different cultures! Right now, I am more focused in travelling within my country, the Philippines. I only have few International travels that include China (I don’t know if you can consider this because I was 4 years old then), Hong Kong, Singapore and now, Cambodia (though its work-related). I may not have been to many places as other travelers but I am slowly getting there. :)
  • Every time I travel, I always make sure I have something to bring back home, not only for myself (I have a corner set up in my room with all my travel memorabilia) but also for my family and friends (we call this “pasalubong”). Actually, people always tease me for being the “target market” of souvenir shops. Gah, I just can’t help it!
Little trinkets of my travel.

Little trinkets of my travel.

  • I love eating street foods! Back in the Philippines, I always crave for balut (duck embryo – please don’t get disgusted with this, it’s good!) grilled isaw (chicken intestine), grilled barbecue, kwek – kwek (deep fried battered quail eggs), peanuts, sweet corn, fishball and kikiam. Even when I travel, I always make it to a point to try the street food or local delicacies of that particular place like Bohol’s Uni (Sea Urchin), Ilocos’ Empanada and Dragonfruit Ice Cream, Cambodia’s Lotchha (stir fried noodles with egg sold in Russian Market – best with hot sauce!), “Barbecue and vegetables in Bagguette”(you can find this in most side streets) and Amok (different varieties depending on restaurants).
  • I am into sweets – particularly ice cream, gummies (worms, bears, tapes, etc…) or chocolates. These are my best friends, my instant  stress- buster, my picker – upper. I always make sure I have some of these stored either at home or at my office work cabinet. If not, you bet I’ll grab a friend in the middle of day to accompany me to the store.
  • I love kids, though I adore baby boys more. Every time I see little boys wearing a cap with their small polo t-shirt, jeans and rubber shoes, I just can’t help but say “awww” and want to pinch and hug them! It makes me want to have my own child too (like at that moment!).
  • I am into vintage lately. There’s something in that old, classy feeling that I can’t describe. Actually I just had my shopping today in various vintage shops and thrift stores here in Phnom Penh. I need to stop myself for being an impulse buyer at times!
My favorite vintage bargain for today! Thanks to Phnom Boutique.

My favorite vintage bargain for today! Thanks to Phnom Boutique.

Again, thank you for everyone who’s been reading my blog :) I do hope those I’ve nominated will do the same. Let’s keep on spreading the love and the Versatile Blogger Award! Don’t forget to message me when you list your “7-things-about-yourself” as I would love to know you better.

That’s it for now. <3 lots, Irene

9 responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award – Thank You!

  1. Thank you Irene for the nomination. It is so heartwarming to know that someone had believed and enjoyed your blog. That is the only consolation that WE bloggers are waiting for.

    I travel a lot too in my younger days (that was in the 1990s). I’ve been to Canada, Singapore, Hongkong, Thailand, Australia and Japan. I love culture-hopping from one country to another. The similarities and differences are always amazing. I would say It’s good to travel when you are young and I am glad you are very much into it right now. Keep going and enjoy. (I’m not saying older people do not enjoy travelling; I think they have some good reasons to travel too).

    I’ve traveled a lot around the country too but I must admit I still have to go up further north; say up to Batanes. That is the part of the country that I have yet to record in my nostalgic past. Huwag maging dayuhan sa sariling bansa ‘ika nga.

    This is not a mutual admiration fans club but I do enjoy reading your blog. It’s one thing to write with perfect grammar and another thing to have an entertaining write-ups. You got both. Congratulations.

    • Thank you, Maxim! I am glad to know that you enjoy reading my blog too. I must say, traveling nowadays are easier and more budget-friendly because of the cheap travel flights of airlines like Cebu Pacific and Zest Air. Maybe one of the reasons why a lot of people (especially those of our age) are into it now, and I couldn’t help but be thankful for it!

      I agree, Batanes is really something that should be on the traveler’s list. I’ve watched features of it from travel shows in the country like “The Pinoy Explorer. I think places like this shouldn’t go on neglected because it has too much potential. I hope we’ll get the chance to go on this place sometime.

      As for international travels, I am dying to go to Europe, but for now, I am more into Southeast Asia being temporarily assigned here in Cambodia. I am thinking of going Thailand or Vietnam sometime in the future. Temples are just amazing! South Korea, Taiwan, Japan and Indonesia are on my list too. It nice to know that Japan recently eased the rules for Filipinos getting a visa.

      Cheers for more amazing adventures!

  2. Again thanks for the nom. Stoked to have gotten the chance to pass the chain, though the 7 things about yourself part seems daunting. :)

    Btw, lovely photo of Phomn Penh.

      • I’d love to pass it on. Good thing you found me. Cambodia is one of my favorite places. Will be reading more of your articles.

  3. A great read! It’s nice to learn a bit more about you. Thanks for following up on the nomination and linking back to us. We hope it brings you lots of new readers and gets paid forward by your nominees. We’ll be checking their blogs out too. And we’ll be in touch when we’re planning our travel to the Philippines!

    • Thank you too! Some of the blog links are from fellow Filipino travelers / backpackers with more exciting and interesting travelogues of the country. Hope this’ll help you decide where to go. :)

What do you think?

