2012: You’ve Been Preciously Awesome (Part 1)

As the last day of the year, everyone’s been crazy busy looking back. And pretty much like them, I tend to ask myself, “What happened to me this year?”

Thus, let me take you back to that 12-month journey and highlights where I learned to set my priorities, to let go and move forward, to be open and take chances.

PS. By the way, I’ll have this post in two-fold, as LOT of things really happened this year.

JANUARY

December 31, 2011 – January 1, 2012 : New Year

Celebrating New Year with the “whole” family. Great emphasis on the “whole”. No, I’m not one of those people who belong to broken families. I’m just one of those people who has a father working overseas. I can’t even quite remember when was the last time he spent New Year with us, but this year, it had been by far one of the happiest.

Complete New Year family photo

January 22, 2012 : House Blessing

It has been my parents’ dream to have our house renovated. We, as a family, started small, but eventually, with the hard work of my parents, get to save for our family’s needs. With God’s continuous guidance and blessing, He finally granted my parents’ wish and all their hard work have paid off. This is what we can now call a “home-sweet-home”.

House blessing

FEBRUARY

February 25, 2012 : 1st Big Concert Ever

I’m used to attending local concerts back in college, but I have never attended any “big dome” concerts yet, until that day: February 25, 2012: The A1, Blue and Jeff Timmons Live in Manila Concert. I’m never a big fan of boy bands, never been into buying their albums, but there is something about them that can make you go crazy. Before you know it, all you’ve been playing and singing all day long are their songs. It’s nice to be able to spend this first with people who, like me, go crazy when the boys started singing their all-time hits.

Concert buddies

MARCH

March 9-12, 2012 : Singapore, My First Out-of-the-Country Travel with Friends

It has been one of my dreams to travel and see the world and it’s nice to know that I have my OBEM friends who share the same eagerness and passion. It was from March 9 -12, that we spent our days outside the country, to a whole new different place, to a whole new set of culture. It was our first time to travel without our parents and for some, their first time to go outside the country. Not one paragraph can summarize all those crazy things that had happened. We stayed in a boarding-house-type-hostel where we met different foreign backpackers. We learned how to blend in with the crowd by taking trains and buses and to eat what they eat. We went to every place possible given our time limit. We took a hundred or so photos to capture memories.

It was a fun, different experience, something that we truly treasured. As 1-year graduates at that time, this was something that made us proud. We finally had saved this much to treat ourselves for the hard work from the past 4 years of studying and the past year of working.

An excerpt of our backpacker life.

An excerpt of our backpacker life.

Met with Kres, our fellow OBEMer, who's been working in Singapore

Met with Kres, our fellow OBEMer, who’s been working in Singapore

Met with Neil and Celene, my cousins who live in Singapore

Met with Neil and Celene, my cousins who live in Singapore

Breathtaking view of the Marina Bay Sands / Merlion Park

Wearing matching shirts in Universal Studios

Wearing matching shirts in Universal Studios

March 17, 2012 : 143 Go II Fun Run

I’ve been pretty active in our organization, the Organization of Business Economics Majors (OBEM), back in college. One of the main projects (and one of the most precious because of the issues we dealt in) we had during our time was the fun run named “143 Go!” for the benefit of the Philippine Heart Center patients. This year, our co-OBEMers organized the part 2 of the project, for the same beneficiaries. After a year of working, this had been the time that I get to see my orgmates and my Alma Mater once again.

Successfully finished the race!

Successfully finished the race!!

March 17 -23, 2012 : Series of celebration with the balikbayan

My cousin, Celene, started living in Singapore with her family since I was 10. For once or twice a year, she visits us here in the Philippines. It’s nice to be able to catch up with this pretty lady, who I used to get into fights when we were kids. She has grown quite a lot with the height, leaving me like a 12-year old when I’m beside her. HAHA.

During her stay, we get to have our little gathering with our other cousins, as well as some pumped up partying in Republiq before she sets off!

We're not kids anymore!

We’re not kids anymore!

Party girls!

Party girls!

March 30, 2012 : Of letting go and moving forward

This month has been the time I finally let go. Let go of that one thing that there’s no point in prolonging, in working it out. It had been a battle for me inside for the past few months, but finally, I get to stay firm with what I want. It took a lot of courage and heartaches. I’m glad, though, it has been one of the best decisions I’ve come up yet.

APRIL

Starting fresh and starting new, this is my birthday month. And how simple my birthday came out, this month has been pretty busy.

April 06, 2012 : Good Friday Birthday

My birthday falls on Good Friday, that day you are not allowed to enjoy because Jesus died. I can’t have any big celebrations at that time, nor get out to party. Thus, my only resolution is to stay inside the house. What better way to do when you have your birthday is bake your own birthday cake. Yes, it was my first time and but it turned out well! I cannot be more proud!

Carrot Birthday Cake for the birthday girl <3

Carrot Birthday Cake for the birthday girl <3

Post -celebration of my birthday followed after that. There are Skype calls, lunch and dinner outs and movie dates. Birthday month can never be more exciting!

Birthday salubong with Leb, my ever-beloved HS friend!

Birthday salubong with Leb, my ever-beloved HS friend!

Catch-up lunch with my oldest bff, Kisha!

Catch-up lunch with my oldest bff, Kisha!

Wicked drink night with HS BFF, Nikki!

Good old college friends I haven't seen for so long!

Good old college friends I haven’t seen for so long!

Spontaneous dates!

Spontaneous dates!

April 29, 2012 : Hyundai 2012 Fun Run – 1st Family Fun Run

Last 2011, I’ve already attended this free fun run of Hyundai with friends. This year, for a change, I invited my mother and sister to run with me. It’s a different kind of bonding and I’m glad that they enjoyed it. I just hoped that this will not be the last. We seriously need to exercise because of overeating this holiday season!

Hyundai Fun Run with Mother and Sister <3

Hyundai Fun Run with Mother and Sister <3

Last month with CorpComm

Corporate Communications, to be exact, has been Anna and I’s home for quite a few months during our MT Program. I can say that this is one of the departments I grew to love because I certainly enjoy working with them. I have learned a lot too, one of which is this site I’m currently using, WordPress. I was assigned to handle corporate websites and work with the creatives. This month was the last month we stayed with them before finally graduating the MT Program. Some highlights of our stay:

My forever partner in crime, Anna.

My forever partner in crime, Anna, during our last Mancomm.

The whole group during one of the "No-Fry Wednesdays"

The whole group during one of the “No-Fry Wednesdays”

With our mentors, Steph and Caroline during our last day! <3

With our mentors, Steph and Caroline during our last day! <3

MAY

May 06, 2012 : New Work Area

Since this has been the month that we’re fully working with our assigned departments, of which now I’m part of the Business Solutions team, we’ve given our new work area. Also, I think on this day, the three of us – Anna – Darika – Irene, became closer as ever. These two are one of the best highlights of my year!

Goofing around our new work area!

Goofing around our new work area!

May 07, 2012 : Post Birthday Celebration with April Celebrants

Since we never get the chance to have our monthly get together, the April celebrants of our OBEM batch organized a day to celebrate our birthdays. Celebrants include Anna, Zion, Vhet and me. It’s nice that Anna, one of our batchmates who lives in Ilocos, was in Manila at that time. It’s a full-blast successful party for all of us.

OBEM Batch 2011 - The so-called Stellars <3

OBEM Batch 2011 – The so-called Stellars <3

May 09, 2012 : MT4 1st Year Anniversary

It’s our 1st year in PhilWeb. Some though, have already moved on and left the company, but of course, we still remained friends. It’s nice to know I’ve been part of this big batch.

Biggest batch ever, MT4

May 17, 2012 : Spontaneous Overnight

One of the most spontaneous work night ever. Two of my good friends in college decided to have an overnight in our house on a Thursday, before Anna leaves for Ilocos again. They are the first OBEM/ College Friends I ever brought home.

Spontaneous overnight with Anna and Jessie!

Spontaneous overnight with Anna and Jessie!

May 26-27, 2012 : Bolinao, Pangasinan

Same with last year and the year before, celebrating summer had been late for me. Two years ago, we went to Bataan late May; a year ago, Boracay on June; and now, we went to Bolinao, Pangasinan late May with the same core people: My roomies.

A lot of thing had happened within this 2-day trip: I met new friends, slept in a hut, rode only 1 tricycle with other 6 people and 7 huge backpacks, slipped through muddy rocks, bathe in a cave, be sarcastic with the resto vendor, and above all, fell in love with the beach all-over again. <3

Having fun with the waves!

Having fun with the waves!

The whole group before leaving!

The whole group before leaving!

JUNE

June 01, 2012 – BS Team Bonding

This was our first ever team bonding and we had it over Kevin’s house. I’m really happy to see the team getting bigger and bigger over the months. <3

1st BS Team bonding

1st BS Team bonding <3

June 11 -12, 2012 : Independence day with the Stellars

This was supposed to be a Friday-night dinner, turned out to be a Friday-Overnight/ Independence-Day celebration with one of the most spontaneous people I know, my OBEM batch friends, more particulary known as the Stellars. After some quick Chinese dinner, we had our overnight at Marc’s, my first time in their house! The next day, we had lunch at Pancake House,  laser tag at LazerXtreme and snacks at Krispy Kreme. As based on the photos, we don’t have any decent clothing that day as we borrowed everything from Marc. Talk about spontaneity!

Karaoke overnight!

Karaoke overnight!

Lazer Tag with the group!

Lazer Tag with the group!

Capping-off the day with Krispy Kreme!

Capping-off the day with Krispy Kreme!

June 08 / 23-24, 2012 : MT4 Bonding / Anawangin

This was our first overnight / out-of-town bonding of the batch. The trip should have been June 08, but due to bad weathers, we opted to stay in at Kevin’s house for the night. We got sober and drunk, secrets have been told, but overall it was fun!

Still in the getting to know stage!

Still in the getting to know stage!

On our second try, June 23, we took our chances. We boarded the bus and wished that the rains and waves would be kind to us. Camping really is hard and new to most of us. Thank God for the two guys we had, Ian and Aldrin, who’ve been used to camping and hiking, that taking care of 8 girls is not much of a hassle (or so I think! hihi!).

MT4 Anawangin-mates!

MT4 Anawangin-mates!

I may be able to have the second part of my post by tomorrow. Few hours to go and it’s officially 2013. I do hope you’re spending it with your beloved families. That’s it for now.

Much love, Irene <3

What do you think?

